The People were speaking, were you listening?

I wrote a blog post on Tuesday as a ‘call to arms’ to announce I was attending and that others must, too (so I hope you all did). It was held yesterday, 25th March 2017, to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome, coinciding with celebrations and pro-EU marches across the EU. In London and in Edinburgh, the marches were not just to wish the EU a ‘happy birthday’ but to also protest against ‘Brexit’. The numbers were great: we were delayed from protesting in London as the police had to get more officers: there were an estimated 100,000 people and the march was 2.5 miles long.

We could tell it was going to be a brilliant day when my mum and I came out the hotel to feel the warm spring sun on our faces and see the clear blue sky. In Hyde Park, where my parents and I were meeting others, we could see the crowds gathering:

Then, we moved across the road to join the queue and saw that the closer you got, the more blue and yellow could be seen i support of the EU:

#StudentsForEurope

It was so heartwarming to see the masses of people turnout in support of the EU. I was mostly impressed with the number of parents bringing their children. I joked to one couple and praised them for bringing their young daughter to “start her young” in political activism by dragging her along. The father replied that she was in fact dragging them along; they are fighting for the EU for her future.It was brilliant to see so many young children engaged with the march and really taking part. It’s their future the government are trying to take away.

I also loved the brilliant placards young people had made. After my last post, I’m glad to see that young people had turned up. There still weren’t as many as I had hoped to see and there were more school-children than young adults/students, but the age range of the pro-EU marchers shows how universal love for the EU is.

#DogsForEU

As a massive dog-lover, I was so happy to see the EU-supporting dogs brought along. Here are two I managed to managed to steal some puppy-love from. This is Dexter who enjoys his holidays in Spain and France so they, his owners, assume he supports the EU:

IMAG2426

There was also Cody, who must love the EU as his owners are two of the EU citizens Mrs May wants to get rid of:

IMAG2445

There were many other dogs and I got lots of cuddles with them, which was the last thing I was expecting on this march and it made my day! Please share your EU-supporting dogs with #DogsForEU.

#MessagesForMay

On Friday, my mum and I attended the Richmond Terrace Vigil held every Monday, Wednesday and Friday (blog post to come soon) and we started taking pictures of our ‘messages for May’. I continued this at the march. Please feel free to use the hashtag to get your pro-EU views out to the world and addressed to our Prime Minister.

Demonstrators came from all over!

I tried to take pictures of the many flags and signs held by people who’d traveled across the UK and Europe to attend our pro-EU and anti-‘Brexit’ march.

 

We had come from Doncaster in South Yorkshire. I was flying my British, Italian and EU flags. It was brilliant to see that people from across the UK had come out in support and many had come to show their countries of origin or their dual-nationalities. Please feel free to comment where you are from and where your support for the UK remaining in the EU lies.

Brilliant placards

As always, protests in the UK bring out some hilarious and beautifully blunt British humour.

Brexit and Trump
Brexit and Trump are the same *bowel* movement
Trump and May
We love immigrants. They make great scapegoats

 

Breakfast not Brexit
‘We want BREAKFAST not…’ (reverse said ‘Brexit’)
Eurovision
How are we going to win Eurovision now?
May Day!
May Day! May Day!

Placards and banners such as these make the protests much more fun. Then of course, there are serious messages in some banners, because many of us feel that this ‘full-steam ahead’ attitude to pursue ‘hard Brexit’ is going to damage our economy, the social lives of many and is a risk to our democracy.

A mix of opinions and facts. All must be considered if the government is going to continue it’s disastrous plans.

As Reported

Yesterday’s march finally got some media attention in the UK and the EU. As the BBC  and the Evening Standard reported, it had been agreed unanimously that we should hold a minute’s silence for those who were killed or injured in Wednesday’s attack. It was felt that we should still march because the hate seen on Wednesday is the hate that we are fighting against. Many chose to also bring flowers to lay on Westminster Bridge and pay respects to those who were effected, such as this demonstrator:

IMAG2431

The Guardian had a running commentary of the day which is a good read if you would like to find out more about why people took part and who our guest speakers were. The Independent reported on our route and the party-like atmosphere which I defiantly felt and enjoyed; crucially, they acknowledged how big the crowd was and the unexpected vast numbers.

Overall

For me, and the majority of protesters, yesterday’s march was an anti-‘Brexit’ march: we want to remain in the EU. Yes, we had fun and some of us (like me and my mum) dressed up to make a statement, but it’s not fun when you think about it. I would rather be protesting to make the EU better, to celebrate our relationship with the EU, not protesting to remain in the EU.

I had a great time, I met some wonderful people: such as Dave ‘the Wizard’ who had a white beard and had attached his EU flag to a tree branch:

Me and Dave 'the Wizard'

I have so many photos and videos to share. My YouTube channel will soon have videos from the event. I hope I don’t have to protest against ‘Brexit’ again but, sadly, I’m sure I will, so I hope to see many of you there the next time. Who knows? Maybe next time we’ll be celebrating the EU and all the good it brings, not fighting to remain.

Some last photos

During the march:

Pall Mall
Demonstrators on the march
Honest t-shirt
Brexit means Brexshit!
Balloons
Just as we arrived in Parliament Square

Once we reached Parliament Square for the speeches:

For more information about Unite For Europe, please see the website, or read people’s thoughts from the day on the Facebook Page and the Twitter feed.

 

 

