Hunt and May, feel free to keep destroying the UK’s favourite thing about being British.

I was once told that hate is not the loss of emotions, but is instead similar to love as you still have feelings towards someone. Those feelings are still passionate, like love, but are anger and distrust, unlike love. Bearing this in mind, I hate Jeremy Hunt and Theresa May. They are not worthy of political power and we can clearly see that they are intent on destroying our beloved NHS and bringing this country to a health crisis… oh wait, The Red Cross has already declared that.

Now, call me selfish, but I may slightly rely on the NHS. I don’t want to get into the technicalities, but I have complex heart conditions which resulted in a cardiac arrest when I was 12. Last year I had my defibrillator changed, which required a minor procedure. As you can see in this photo, all went smoothly due to the wonderful NHS staff:

This blog post is based primarily on my own personal experiences. I believe that when it comes to something as important to our nation’s identity, we must keep looking as to why it is so important to our citizens. So here is my rather emotional justification for the NHS.

Access to free healthcare is a human right, and that shouldn’t be disputed. The way Tories talk as if we can all afford Bupa and Nuffield Health disgusts me. I have no problem with having a private sector for healthcare – in fact, I believe it to be essential to bringing down the costs of the NHS when those who can afford it can go elsewhere. This small private sector, however, should not be allowed to infiltrate the public. Jeremy Hunt, please realise that not everyone comes from a prosperous family, such as yourself. I come from a well-off family, we are nowhere near the poverty line but we could not afford healthcare if you succeeded in your quest to privatise the NHS.

Anyone who has studied history will know how bad the situation was before the introduction of the NHS by Labour in 1948. The cost of a doctor was so expensive that it became a feminist issue as mothers would refuse to spend what little money they had on a doctor in fear of their children needing it. In this way, it becomes a serious human rights issue; why should we have to give up healthcare in case our children might need it more? There’s parental responsibility, but that’s no good if the parents are no longer able to look after their children due to an untreated illness. It’s not fair; all the family should be able to receive medical treatment, regardless of household income. That is why the NHS is so beautiful: It is nondiscriminatory, everyone has access to free healthcare with no questions as to your income.

There are issues, of course, with anything that is expensive to run. The NHS is in a lot of debt and is drastically understaffed. I have a few observations. For instance, in the middle of summer, there is no need to have the radiators on full blast, especially when the windows are wide open. Even the government can see how easy it would be to make efficiency savings (ignore the calls for a 7-day NHS, there already is one, the government just want to look like they’re actually doing something about this). The NHS doesn’t need to cut back, it barely has enough resources as it is, it needs to stop wasting money; which can only be done if the government gives the NHS enough care staff to help patients and cuts back the unnecessary number of managers.

Here’s a question, if the government can spend money on looking into how the NHS could make efficiency savings, why can’t it give the NHS the money to implement those efficiency savings?

Another issue may well be as to people using the NHS when they have no right to as they are not from the UK. Here’s a simple solution, all residents of the UK (citizens or otherwise) get given an NHS card to show that they have a right to use the NHS. If they do not possess this, then they still receive treatment but have to pay for it.

Germany and Canada are renowned for having some of the best healthcare treatments and follow up appointments – both systems are free. They manage to make the system work. So why, dearest May and Hunt, have you not sat down with these countries, both of which are our allies, to ask how they do it and where the UK can improve? Why, instead, are you sitting down with big American firms, looking for ways to privatise our NHS?

I do not want to see an American system. I’m sure many of you will have seen that even the Vice President couldn’t afford to care for his dying son due to treatment costs. I watch ‘Grey’s Anatomy’, even doctors themselves can’t afford medical treatments! How can anyone on a lower income survive in these situations? Is that really the system you want, Hunt? Is that what you want for people from well-off backgrounds to be dying because they can’t afford the treatment for their illness?

As I said, my family would not be able to afford healthcare if we were to adopt the American system. Both my sister and I have had very expensive and experimental surgery which has resulted in giving my sister a life to live and a much easier life for me with far fewer hospital trips: In the long run, these expensive surgeries have actually saved the NHS money. My sister doesn’t need regular care and and can actually live a normal life and so we will soon be working and paying taxes – isn’t that a benefit for you, Mrs May? I only needed one surgery as a child (until my cardiac arrest resulting in minor procedures every 5-6 years for a new defibrillator), as apposed to the major surgeries every few years I would’ve had to have. As we see in America, healthcare insurances will not fund experimental surgeries due to the risks and costs involved.

Mine and my sister’s surgeon, Mr Brawn, as part of Birmingham Children’s Hospital*, performed our surgeries and many more. People travel from all over the world to be treated by this incredible team and we get it for free – isn’t that incredible? Not only do his innovative surgeries save lives, they also allow surgeons to develop tactics and expand our understanding of the human anatomy. None of this would be possible with the constraints private healthcare brings.  Why, Mr Hunt, are you so determined to stop this?  Why do you want to prevent your nation from learning?

The NHS is crumbling, but that is because our government would rather let £34 billion go missing in taxes than punish tax evaders and put that money back into our public sector. The NHS is  drastically understaffed, mainly because when people do apply for medical courses, they’re rejected due to not enough places being available. Then, once they’re on the course and doing training, they get treated really badly (I’ve seen this and have heard of it from my cousin, who is training to be a nurse) to the point where they want to take their skills to other counties. If they do remain in the UK, then they get the situation such as the Junior Doctors’ Strike where they are vilified by the government and the press. This cannot go on, the government must realise that to be British is to value the NHS – for a government hellbent on British values, I don’t see many around in cabinet. I truly believe in the NHS, it is one of the few things, especially in the current climate, that makes me proud to be British. Please, let’s not waste that.

*No words will ever express how truly grateful I am to you all. I can only hope that the government gives the NHS the funding it needs for you to continue to give hope to young parents, such as my own, and a life to children who would otherwise be destined for a life in hospital, such as myself and my sister. You are all incredible and wonderful people who deserve much more credit than the government will ever give you. Thank you, Birmingham Children’s and thank you, Mr Brawn.

If anyone has a story of how incredible the NHS is and feels comfortable sharing, please leave a comment with why you want the NHS to stay public.

Related imageLet’s keep it this way.

