A protest against ‘Brexit’ and for peace.

On Saturday, 10 December 2016, my mum and I took part in some more protesting. How did the UK, the world, get to this point? A point where people are having to arrange a protest to protect the human rights we stand to lose. Shouldn’t we be moving towards more human rights, not fewer? The Silent Chain was held on the anniversary of the UN Declaration of Human Rights. In 1948, people looked at the atrocities the world had just faced and said we need to stop this. We need to make sure this doesn’t happen again. And so we did. We created a universal code of human rights which have influenced individual countries’ laws.

We use these rights to justify wars and to see “less developed” countries as “backwards” compared to “The West”. The West, we need to look at ourselves. We need to see what’s happening. How can we claim to be better than other countries when we are disrespecting refugees who are suffering the same traumas as our grandparents did by calling them ‘cockroaches’. On a smaller scale, rights are being eroded due to the uncertainty of the future of EU citizens in the UK and the same is for UK citizens in the EU. 

A man who was accused of raping a teenager (allegation later withdrawn) is the President-elect of the USA and his vice president thinks you can cure homosexuality. ‘Brexit’ has been voted for and our government is telling us it’s about immigration. Marie Le Pen may win the French elections and right wing populism is taking over Europe. Yet I’m being told that I shouldn’t be fearing for my human rights, that we’re not moving towards fascism? Fascism is an ideology; it cannot die; it cannot be a thing of the past.

This is why I’m supporting Silent Chain for Europe. I was in Manchester. Others were held across cities in the UK for 15 minutes at 12pm, including in London and Brighton.

Considering what’s happening at the moment, I’m glad I went. It was not a massive crowd but it reminded me that there are still people who believe in our rights and who believe in the EU, like I do. I also know that there were more people across the UK who were holding hands with strangers to peacefully and silently protest against Britain’s planned ‘Brexit’; for peace and tolerance against the xenophobic abuse that has been legitimised by ‘Brexit’.  Anti-‘Brexit’ protesting, for me, has become more than just a fight against the referendum result, but also a fight against the wave of intolerance I am seeing and feeling. If you took part, feel free to comment on what the protest meant to you.

I am genuinely terrified about some of this country’s anti-immigration sway to the right and the way we are vilifying other humans. So I will keep campaigning for peace and tolerance and for us to educate ourselves about the new cultures which are coming to our once open and accepting country. Once we do so, we can learn so much about our own world and what individuals can do to make it better.

