I can’t even begin to put into words how annoyed I am that this is the second time this week I am am blogging about a black American being unequally treated by their government. I don’t want to keep reapeating myself.
So I won’t.
I’m not going to write about how it is unfair.
How Sam Dubose was unarmed and was killed because a white officer racially profiled him to be carrying a weapon then shot and killed him.
That this is just as unequal and unfair as arresting Sandra Bland with no reason given.
That there are many more names, stories and police officers who don’t get as much media attention and so don’t get the justice they deserve.
How police brutality would be halved if America sorted out its bloody guns laws which cause deaths, as shown by the Brady Campaign.

Words defy me as to how to express what has happened and my dismay at how little is done to protect people. Then again, how can you when it is the law enforcement which is attacking the citizens?

I found out about Sam Dubose when I saw Kerry Washington’s post:

image

And then I remembered this episode of Scandal (which is one of my favourite shows on TV):

image

And I found a very interesting blog post about the episode, if you want to read it.

How bad is racial police brutality in America if it’s on their TV shows as a recurring theme? That we Brits find out about it? That I, someone who has never been to America, no relation to it whatsoever, is blogging about it and is concerned?

When does the violence end?
When does someone stand up and say enough is enough?
Oh yeah…
President Obama on race
That didn’t turnout too well.

Since Obama has been in power, African Americans still make up 38% of prison population and there’s small things in everyday life, such as, more blacks live under the poverty line than whites and you’re more likely to get arrested if you’re black. These small things basically say, *adopt cheesy American accent*

Are you black and American? Then you’re screwed! 😁

It’s unacceptable, it’s unnecessary and it needs to change. Public attitudes towards African American populations is not going to suddenly change overnight but the law can. It can work harder to insure that a country’s citizens feel safe and can trust their government. It can do this by enforcing laws, training officer’s not to racially profile. It can look more closely at why so many blacks do actually commit proper crimes (unlike Sandra Bland and Sam Dubose) by looking at how and where they live and what can be done to change these situations. This isn’t something that’s going to change immediately but it was supposed to be addressed in 1968 when Johnson came to power, and it has, to an extent. Why hasn’t it worked, fully, in creating equal rights? Why haven’t people’s attitudes changed?

