Of Mice and Men

John Steinbeck

I have to admit, my feelings for Of Mice and Men are the same for To Kill a Mockingbird… until the end. Wow, I was not expecting that! I watched the film and then read the book (for English). If it was my choice, it would’ve been the other way round.

The Book

This was such a powerful storyline. John Steinbeck has passionately shown how life was meaningless during the Great Depression. Taking history for GCSE, I know how much the Wall Street Crash affected Germany and England, but his book was a real eye-opener to life in the deep south of North America. The book is so good that I can’t even explain to you why – you have to read it.

Lennie is my favourite character. He’s so sweet but his fate was sealed the moment he killed the mouse. However, this book gives a bigger insight than just the ranch workers; it subtly describes how even women, who aren’t given enough respect to have a name (Curley’s Wife), are above black people, Crooks. It’s such a disastrous story that I almost cried.

The Film

This does justice to the book. With Gary Sinise (such a good actor) playing George, you automatically know this will be great.

The only part I didn’t like was Candy’s dog being shot. I adore dogs and the dramatic build up creates this tension that made me burst out crying. This, was not a good idea as we were watching this in English. Yeah, my class was there. On the plus side, I wasn’t the only one but my friend was sitting next to me laughing! Anyway, the film portrays this wonderful novel beautifully.

As much as I love this book, I’m getting bored with it being the centre of attention for my English lessons. Oh well.

That’s all from me, write to you next time x

