To Kill A Mockingbird

Harper Lee

To Kill A Mockingbird

Whilst this book is held as a masterpiece and a classic, I don’t really see it. Perhaps it’s because of the energy surrounding how great it is that gave me such high expectations that were not met. This is not to say that I didn’t enjoy it.

The story follows Atticus Finch as he tries to defend Tom Robinson, a black man, being accused of raping a white girl during the 1930s. It is told by Atticus’ yoounger daughter, Scout. What I like about the book is that Scout is writing about her life and the event with Tom just happens to be there ; it’s not the centre of her story but plays a key part in the matters that unfold.

One of her life events is meeting Boo Radley; he’s my favourite character. He is portrayed as dark and twisted but this is only spun out of a rumour. We as the readers get to meet him in the last chapter – this is when I decided he was officially the best character in the book.

The other great thing about this book is that it starts with Jem’s broken arm and then goes back in time only yo finish with how Jem broke his arm.

Overall, this is a great book showing what life was like for black people living in America during the 1930s. It also displays the ignorance and innocence of youth. I would recommend it to anyone studyoing this period of time.

That’s all from me, write to you next time x

